Things I wish I had bought for myself before Wren was born

Before Wren was born I made an extensive list of everything she needed. Around one third of it she didn’t use or like, (namely the (Snuzpod I was so excited about) but it didn’t occur to me to spend a bit of money whilst I still had it on things that would make my life easier.

  1. A decent hairdryer is a must. Keeping a baby or toddler occupied whilst you are trying to dry your hair at lightning speed, not to mention straightening it is a mammoth task. My other half bought me a fantastic Lee Stafford 2200 watt dryer for Christmas and I wish I had it back at the start when I used to turn up to playgroup with my hair just about dry tied up into a mum bun!
  2. This sort of leads me on to make up. I always loved make up in my teens but couldn’t apply it for the life of me. I wouldn’t consider myself anywhere near an expert now but I like to think I can turn myself from shattered to satisfactory easily enough. However, buy a decent foundation! You don’t have to spend a lot even. I have two favourites, W7 it’s a matte or a lovely Eve Lom compact I bought from TK maxx which is the best I have ever used. It just means that even if you only have time to put some foundation on and some mascara, at least it will boost your confidence and make you feel human, or halfway maybe.
  3. A tv for my bedroom is now something I’m dreaming of. Sometimes, during the evening after looking after Wren during the day I feel like I just need an hour or so to myself. Sometimes I just message friends and family in a feeble attempt to try and keep in touch with everyone or I will immerse myself in trash such as Towie, Real Housewives of Cheshire or Geordie Shore, (the old ones, back when it was watchable) or I will continue a boxset. Having a tv would be a massive improvement on leaning my iPad up on the bed and not being able to charge at the same time as the blooming cable is so short! It might seem like a bit of a weird one but after a long day being Mummy it’s nice to lie in bed, candles lit watching what you want.
  4. A decent camera or a phone with a decent camera is a must have in my eyes. I have taken so many pictures of Wren on my phone which luckily has a decent camera,(thanks Huawei) but I would love to own a semi professional camera and then archive my photos in nice albums liked my Grandparents and Parents did.
  5. Lastly, this isn’t a luxury but I absolutely love scented candles and I particular Yankee candles. When I was working full time I would treat myself all the time to these and burn them for fun. Now I have at most 2 tarts and honestly, I miss just lighting my burner and waiting for my favourite smells to fill the room.

When we become Mums we give up so much, yes we gain a whole load too but I think if you surround yourself with a few of the things you like and that will make life easier, why not?!

Go on, treat yourself whilst you can.

X

Leave a comment